The Wildhearts: 30 Year Itch (Round Records, 2020)

The Wildhearts’ live album 30 Year Itch that was recorded during the Renaissance Men and Diagnosis tours in 2019, was released in the beginning of December 2020. The original release date was 25 September, but because of this little nuisance that has turned the whole world upside down, the album release was postponed, as is my review.

The new release date of the Wildhearts’ live album was the fourth of December 2020, and the physical object reached me on the tenth, so almost a month ago. But because of many reasons I finally put the records (yes, this is a double album) on a turntable to listen how it actually sounds. I mean, I have been listening to the digital album countless times since September, so I was very familiar with the content. But it was like listening to totally another recording when I finally heard the real thing. And I put a bit extra bass to enjoy it even more. I want to feel the music. Unfortunately, because I am living in a flat with neighbours behind the wall, I couldn’t turn the volume as high as I’d have liked.

Please click the image to enlarge it.

I didn’t have to think twice which version of the album, vinyl or CD, to choose when making my pre-order sometimes last summer. I have always preferred vinyl, but sometimes I buy CDs, if I have anticipated that the artwork is not that interesting (I don’t want to use a magnifying glass), or I am not a big fan of the band but want to have the music anyway. 

Artwork, that’s the key word. What a package it is. (Sorry about a bit bad quality image of the album cover, my photo is not showing it in its whole glory.) I love the embossed gatefold sleeve with the classic smiley bones designed by Alan Kerr. This reminds me of the old days, when bands really put effort into the album designs. The inner sleeves bear images of all the band members, Ginger, Ritch, Danny and CJ. The package is completed with a folded, two-sided poster.

What about the songs then? There are 17 songs starting with ‘Dislocated’ that was also the opening song on the spring tour. The side A was closed by ‘Anthem’. I was happy to attend a gig, where it was performed as well. (I attended two Wildhearts gigs in 2019; you can read my story here. Btw, all the b/w photos in the cover for this blog post are mine and taken at those two gigs.)

There are three songs from the Renaissance Men album (you can read my review of that album here), above mentioned ‘Dislocated’, ‘Diagnosis’ (my favourite one, if I have to pick one) and ‘Let ‘Em Go’.  There are usually one or two songs from earlier albums, but from the Earth vs the Wildhearts album there are five songs that have made their way to the new live album. Endless Nameless is one of those albums that is represented by two songs, the earlier mentioned ‘Anthem’ and ‘Urge’.

The final touch, soundwise, is given again by Dave Draper. When you listen to a live album, you want to have a feeling of a live concert, you want to feel the audience’s presence and participation. I know that many people don’t want to hear the audience and sometimes, if it’s done badly, it can be very annoying (I remember listening to some Pink Floyd bootlegs, where you couldn’t hear nothing but the audience!) So, it’s a bit like balancing between too little and too much. I think that here the live event feeling is conveyed quite nicely and you are sort of sensing the audience rather than actively hearing it. But there could have been a little bit more some on-stage banter, too. Yep, that’s what I am missing a bit. But all in all this is a fantastic album, or “f***ing brilliant…”

Album sleeve 1

When you open the cover you find a collage of photos taken at the gigs of the 2019 tours, plus all the needed information. I miss, though, information about the recording locations of the songs. Among the photographers there are several familiar names. I am especially happy to see a name “Neil Vary”. I mean, I know Neil; we have met at gigs a couple of times. It’s always lovely to see that the work of someone you know is valued.

Credits of the WH 2-album

I don’t really have more to say. I have enjoyed 30 Year Itch a lot, I have listened to it a lot and I believe it’s a must for all the Wildhearts fans. Of course you can always complain that certain songs from the tour were not included, but it’s simply impossible to please everyone. Even if it has been a triple album, someone would have missed his/her favourite song!

© Katriina Etholén

Track listing:

Side A: 1. Dislocated, 2. Everlone, 3. Suckerpunch, 4.Anthem

Side B: 1. Diagnosis, 2. TV Tan, 3. The Jackson Whites, 4. Let ‘Em Go

Side C: 1. Vanilla Radio, 2. Urge, 3. Mazel Tov Cocktail, 4. Sick Of Drugs, 5. Someone Who Won’t Let Me Go

Side D: 1. The Revolution Will Be Televised, 2. Caffeine Bomb, 3.  Love U Til I Don’t, 4. I Wanna Go Where The People Go

The Wildhearts on Facebook
The Wildhearts website
Round Records website

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started