Drawings Part 6: hide at Club Citta, 13 May 1998

Maybe my worst hide drawing. I didn’t want to publish this, but I didn’t have time to draw a new version either, so I decided to publish this in my “drawings” category. I just need to practice more.

A short history behind this drawing. ℎ𝑖𝑑𝑒’s first solo tour took place 30 years ago. I have written about it before (check this), but because of its anniversary year, I had planned to write a new article. But I have had extremely busy spring, a little bit of pressure of not having time for all things I need to do or want to do and finally I had to give up: no time for a new article. But I had to do something.

There were some additional days in May, the last concert being held at Club Citta in Kawasaki on 13 May 1994. Because I didn’t have time to write anything, I decided to draw a picture. In fact drawing a picture was not even my plan B, but rather a plan C. My plan B was to write about one song and that song would have been ‘Dice’. But when I had too little time even for writing about one song (it would have required browsing all the material I have and I didn’t have time to get them translated), the last option was to draw a picture.

I still wanted to have ‘Dice’ in my story and was thinking about certain kind of image of him. But then I decided to draw him on that very day, 13 May 1998, at Club Citta.

img40

I probably managed to draw the worst image I have ever done. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to draw a new one. The scan does make it look even worse than the original one. The drawing doesn’t look like him, I failed totally with his mouth and when I tried to correct it, the result was even worse. He looks angry and when I noticed that, I made him look even more angry. There are some good parts, but too much not-so-good parts. You cannot succeed every time.

Below is a video clip that is probably from that very same night, regarding the stripped down stage set and the clothes that ℎ𝑖𝑑𝑒 is wearing.

Hopefully I will have some time in the future to try to make this picture again; maybe I can even write the planned plan B, “‘Dice’ live”, and include the new picture there.

Text and illustration © Katriina Etholén

2 thoughts on “Drawings Part 6: hide at Club Citta, 13 May 1998

Add yours

  1. It’s not a bad picture at all! However, I think when drawing we put our thoughts and feelings into it. This made hide look a bit in a hurry and angry. But that’s hide alright.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started